Festival 2022

The International Piano Festival, sponsored exclusively by Instituto Cultural Vale, is continuing the tradition established by the BNDES International Piano Competition, between 2009 and 2016, in its mission to train and encourage young pianists of all nationalities. With its scholarships, training opportunities for piano tuners and donations of study pianos, it changed the Brazilian music scene and brought encouragement to the careers of talented young pianists such as Fabio Martino, Leonardo Hilsdorf, Ronaldo Rolim, Daniel Ciobanu, Daria Kiseleva, Dmitry Shishkin, and many others who went on to achieve outstanding success in the international music scene. This year’s edition celebrates initiatives that, like this festival, recognise Brazil’s importance in nurturing pianists of the calibre of Nelson Freire (honoured in this edition), Jacques Klein, Guiomar Novaes, Magda Tagliaferro, Anna Stella Schic, Antonieta Rudge, Iara Bernetti, and many others who have left an invaluable artistic legacy for Brazilian culture.

Candidates (in alphabetical order by name)

Pre-Selection Jury: Vera Astrachan, Olga Kopylova and Lilian Barretto

Antonina Suhanova
Hyerim Lee
South Korea
Jordan Alexander
Noah Zhou
United Kingdom
Rafael Ruiz
Robert Bily
Czech Republic
Xiaohui Yang
Yeontaek Oh
South Korea


Piotr Paleczny
Chairman of the Jury
Akemi Alink
Álvaro Teixeira Lopes
Eduardo Monteiro
Linda Bustani
Marian Rybicki
Pierre Réach
Roberto Tibiriçá


See all videos from 2022
Final - 10/09/2022
Xiaohui Yang (China)
Final - 10/09/2022
Noah Zhou (United Kingdom)
Final - 10/09/2022
Yeontaek Oh (South Korea)

Piano Stars

Estrelas do Piano - Piano Stars - was the National Tour complementary project to the artistic activities of the International Piano Festival to promote young pianists in Brazilian cities. The Ukrainian pianist Illia Ovcharenko played in Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo, and the Brazilian pianists Leonardo Hilsdorf, Cristian Budu and Gustavo Carvalho played in Belém, Vitória and Belo Horizonte.
  • Lei de Incentivo à Cultura - Lei Rouanet
Master Sponsor
  • Instituto Cultural Vale
  • TP Sul Guaraciaba Transmissora de Energia S.A.
  • Paranaíba Transmissora de Energia S.A.
  • Fundação Orquestra Sinfônica Brasileira
  • Alink-Argerich Foundation
  • Sala Cecília Meireles
  • FUNARJ - Fundação Anita Mantuano de Artes do Estado do Rio de Janeiro
  • Secretaria de Cultura e Economia Criativa Governo do Estado do Rio de Janeiro
  • Instituto Arte Plena
  • Secretaria Especial da Cultura e Ministério do Turismo